Popovers

I decided fairly recently, that it might be fun to actually try the recipes I have pinned on Pinterest. I thought it might also be nice to share my experiences with the ones I try.

This is not the first recipe I have tried, but this is the first one I will be sharing!

The original recipe came from this site:
tablefortwoblog.com

I modified to suite my own needs, and this is what I came up with:

1 cup of milk (I prefer 2%)
2 eggs
1 cup of flour
3 Tbsp of butter, divided
1/2 tsp salt (optional, I leave it out)

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees.

In a blender (or whisked by hande) combine the eggs and the milk, until well blended. Then add the flour and 1 Tbsp of the butter, melted. Blend until frothy and then let it set for 10 minutes.

Once the oven is up to temp, through a standard muffin tin into the oven for 2 minutes (before adding the mix).

After the 2 minutes is up, melt the last 2 Tbsps of butter and brush it into each section of the muffin.

Froth your mix one more time, pour it into your muffin tin, and place it in the oven.

You are going to bake them for 15 minutes, then you are going to reduce the temperature to 350 degrees. DO NOT open the oven during the temp,change, it will prevent them from popping over (and you don’t want that). You are going to leave it at 350 for 15 minutes as well.

When they are done, immediately remove them from the muffin tin to cool.

There you have it! They are great plain, buttered, or with jams!

Enjoy them while they are hot and fresh, they don’t make the best leftovers!

20140209-203815.jpg

Leave a comment